Pelican Vortex DLX 80 Kayak

NOW: $199.99 (20% off!)
Was: $249.99*

You May Also Like:

Pelican Vortex DLX 80 Kayak - Dick's Sporting Goods
  • Show Enhanced
  • $120 Shipping on Select Pelican Kayaks! Online Only.
  • Lime Green
  • Turquoise
  • Tangerine
  • 7 FT. 9 IN.
Check Store Availability

Usually ships in 5 - 14 business days.

Standard Freight Delivery

Product Information:

The Pelican® Vortex 80DLX Kayak is an ideal kayak for beginners and more experienced paddlers alike. Featuring an adjustable backrest and molded seat, the Vortex 80DLX is comfortable enough to stay out on the lake for hours. The bow and stern carry handles and lightweight design make it easy to transport to and from the shore for a day of fun on the water!
FEATURES:

  • Designed for all skill sets
  • Adjustable padded backrest
  • Bow and stern carrying handles
  • Elastic bungee cords on stern
  • Molded seat
  • Carry handles
  • Drain plug
  • Not rudder capable
  • Manufacturer's two-year limited extended warranty on hull and deck
  • Manufacturer's one-year warranty on components and accessories
  • Pelican


Specs:

  • Length: 7'9"
  • Beam: 28"
  • Depth: 14"
  • Cockpit width: 24.5"
  • Cockpit length: 41.5"
  • Carry weight: 28 lbs
  • Maximum weight capacity: 200 lbs
Country of Origin: Imported
Web ID: 12586849

Customer Reviews:

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to carry and manuever This kayak is very light-weight and easy to carry and maneuver. I went to the lake when it was windy, so the wind blew the kayak around a little. There is plenty of room for smaller people. I am 5'3" and my boyfriend is 5'7" and there was plenty of room in the kayaks for us. One downside I noticed is the kayak is not as sturdy as heavier kayaks and it is easier to tip over. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I was looking for I was looking for a kayak that I could throw in the back of my car and carry to the water myself. I have three other kayaks, but if I'm alone, getting them up on the roof rack and then carrying them down to the water can be a real pain. Most of the eight-footers out there are for kids and have weight limitations. This one can handle an adult. Would I tour in it? No. Is it the most stable thing in rough water? No. But if you want something that is easy to transport and that you can paddle decently on a small flat water pond or lake, then I would reccomend this kayak without reservations. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good kayak for children Lightweight and affordable, this was a good choice for my not quite teenage children. A little too tight for an adult man, but just what I needed for them. July 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect beginner kayak Light, easy to use, great price and great colors! We are very happy with our purchase for our first kayak July 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight and easy My Pelican Vortex is lightweight and very easy to transport by myself to and from the lake. At 8' it is just short enough to fit into my car. I am 5'10" - anyone taller might have issues with the size but it's perfect for me. July 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little beginner kayak at good price. Got this on sale for $150. Very light and easy to load as it's small enough to just throw in the back of a pickup truck. Have many boats, so this was just an "extra" for me to use with kids and beginners. Very stable, but not meant for long tours or speed. As simple and basic as they get. Light and very easy to carry on shoulder one person. July 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product We previously bought two of the Pelican Vortex last summer to get a feel for kayaking around local lakes. When the kayaks went on sale again this season, we bought another of the same product to have for when friends visit. It is a great beginner kayak to use to float around a calm lake. July 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for a low price Great product for a low price. This is great for paddling around the lake. July 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. Comfortable and easy to tote. Fits perfect in the back of my pickup. June 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wee little boat The first thing to know about this kayak is that it is a wee little boat. How wee? 7'9" long. I bought two of these for my wife and me for pond paddling. I wanted something I could easily chuck in the back of the minivan without bothering with roof racks and all that stuff, and this fit that requirement. But it's better than that! I can fit both of them in my PRIUS! With the hatch down! And still have room for my wife and I, plus plenty of room in the back for gear and such. Now, I know what you're thinking - Priuses are awesome. And you're right! But even so. Two kayaks in a compact car is pretty amazing. Now, there are some downsides to a wee little kayak. The first being they're not so good for big people. This one is rated for 200lbs, and I wouldn't want to push it. I weigh 170 and it's riding a bit low in the water with me in it. Second, it's ridiculously short. Your feet are right up in the prow (i.e. the pointy part in front). I'm 5'9" and it's fine for me but my 6'1" son did not find it acceptable. Another drawback is there is nowhere to put your stuff, except a wimpy little bungie thing in the back. The last major drawback is performance. As I mentioned, this kayak rides low in the water because it's so small, so to displace enough water it has to submerge deeper than a kayak with a larger area would. It's also rather chubby, so it doesn't exactly knife through the water. Just like my Prius, you won't be winning any races in this one. It doesn't track particularly straight, swinging back and forth about 5 degrees with each stroke. I wouldn't take this out on open water with big waves either. But it is very maneuverable and easy to turn. Another benefit of its small size is its low weight. It only weighs about 25lbs, and is easy to pick up in one hand. When I go out paddling with my wife, I just pick up both, one in each hand like two big suitcases, and stroll down to the water with them. So easy. But the best part of all is in the parking lot, laughing at all those people wrestling their big kayaks up to the roof of their cars, with those big ugly racks on top, lashing them down and what not, while I just slide my two Vortex DLX 80's into the Prius and leave! June 18, 2016
  • 2016-09-29 T01:21:09.046-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_92, tr_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_12586849, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>