Pelican Vortex DLX 80 Kayak

$199.99 $249.99*
Save $50.00 (20%)
Pelican Vortex DLX 80 Kayak - Dick's Sporting Goods
  • Show Enhanced
  • Free Shipping Eligible on Qualifying Purchases Over $49! Up to $15 Shipping Credit.
  • Turquoise
  • Lime Green
  • Tangerine
  • 7 FT. 9 IN.
Check Store Availability

Usually ships in 5 - 14 business days.

Standard Freight Delivery

Product Information:

The Pelican® Vortex 80DLX Kayak is an ideal kayak for beginners and more experienced paddlers alike. Featuring an adjustable backrest and molded seat, the Vortex 80DLX is comfortable enough to stay out on the lake for hours. The bow and stern carry handles and lightweight design make it easy to transport to and from the shore for a day of fun on the water!
FEATURES:

  • Designed for all skill sets
  • Adjustable padded backrest
  • Bow and stern carrying handles
  • Elastic bungee cords on stern
  • Molded seat
  • Carry handles
  • Drain plug


Specs:

  • Length: 7'9"
  • Beam: 28"
  • Depth: 14"
  • Cockpit width: 24.5"
  • Cockpit length: 41.5"
  • Carry weight: 28 lbs
  • Max. capacity: 200 lbs
  • Pelican
Country of Origin: Imported
Web ID: 12586849

Customer Reviews:

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it. I'm a small female at 5'5 and 112 lbs and I had no issues carrying this kayak one-handed or pulling it into and out of the water alone. This kayak was my very first experience using one, and I am no athlete, but this was SO easy to maneuver and paddle. Stable. Light. Comfortable. Durable enough for light kayaking down leisurely lakes and rivers. I like it a lot. The downsides are it does have a seam, there is no storage compartment, and it is probably not well suited for larger individuals. My knowledge of kayak quality is limited, but what I do know is this was well worth the 150$ investment (it was on sale). I would recommend! Fun!! July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for 8ft kayak This kayak is good buy if you specifically looking for 8ft kayak. Some reviewers are complaining that it's too short and unstable, which is the case if you compare it with 10+ft. So if you considering this kayak as you main adult kayak I would recommend to go for at least 10ft. My 9yo son feels comfortable in it and it fits into a trunk of my truck, so I don't have to buy roof rack. I put my (10ft) on the roof and this one in the trunk. Also it's very light, which was another plus for me. It's good enough for still lake paddling and recreational fun. DO NOT take it to whitewater. The plastic is thin and may crack easily on the rocks. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I bought this kayak because I am a poor graduate student with a small car and a small apartment to store it at. For the price, size and weight... it is a fantastic buy! It does great on rivers. The tracking is not terrible if you adjust your stroke every once in a while. The light weight makes it ideal for shallow waters as well. I am going to buy a nicer kayak when I get a real job, but for the time being, I would highly recommend this product! October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Boat I'm 6' & right at the weight limit. The boat is to small for me both to short for comfort & weight. I had no problem with the way it moved in the water but flipped it to see how easy it was to get in & out. I could not get back into the boat without sinking it. I tried from front, side, & back. I was just to heavy to get on top without the boat filling with water. My 8 year old found it fun but a little harder to paddle then the 10' Pathfinders by Pelican. My wife on the other hand says this is her favorite one. She is 5'3" & has no problems in it. The boat is light weight & really easy to carry & load. June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kayak, even better price My brother and I have been looking into buying a kayak for a while and found some inflatables online. We planned on buying the inflatables this past Friday, but decided to look at Dick's first we found this one for 199.99 and talked to the manager he sold it to us at 150. My brother and i work opposite shifts most of the time and dont have a problem sharing it but plan on getting another within our next paychecks. It is easy to maneuver and floats in just inches of water. Neither of us have ever kayaked before, and have spent hours apiece on the water now (without tipping). If you're looking into buying a kayak, i would recommend this one. its just as nice as the five hundred dollar kayaks in my opinion and light and durable. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love at first paddle! Love it! Been looking for a kayak for a while - saw this on sale over the weekend - purchased the last one at the store. Threw her in the back of the jeep and couldn't wait to get on the water. For the price, this model has all the features I need. At 28 lbs, very easy to handle. Has plenty of room for me (5' 4" and 135lb), my fishing rod, fishing bag and a few water bottles. Steady and smooth, even fast, handled well on the lake on a calm day, we'll see how she does with a little more wind another day. No buyers remorse with this one at all! Sometimes you get so excited to buy something and then get it home and try it out and have the big let down. Not the case with this at all. I love it! I'm just a beginner, but can see that I am going to absolutely love spending quite a few hours on the lake. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kayak at a great price This is a wonderful kayak, at the best price. It tracks well & is very good for beginners & veteran boaters alike. I bought 6 of these in the last 3 years & am happy when the family is together on a trip! Nothing like it! May 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for what I wanted Light. I can carry it myself down to the water. I use it on the lake, it is stable for me, a 140 lb 62 yr old, 4'4" woman with a beagle on my lap. LOL. Its not fast but I don't go fast. It would be nice if there was a storage port in the back and one would fit there just fine. I am going to give it the old 4 star rating because it serves exactly the purpose I bought it for. Inexpensive, light, stable, and rides in the back of my 1985 300ZX, with a bungee cord tie down on the hatch just great. June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Kayak for Kids We just purchased this kayak for our kids ages 8 and 11. It is very easy to transport. My husband had no problem putting the kayak in the back of his truck and can easily carry it. The kids love paddling around the lake in this kayak. It is quite easy to maneuver. It is a bit slower than a longer kayak but overall for the price it's a good buy. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great yak for a smaller person Bought this for my (large) 8 year old son. It took him all of about 5 minutes, without instruction, to be off and running like a pro. Easy to paddle, even easier to transport at under 30 pounds, it's just a great little boat. He has no problem keeping up with the rest of the family. Would have been nice if it had some storage, but at this price point, I'm not going to complain. June 3, 2014
  • 2015-07-07T07:05:11.827-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_49, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_12586849, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>