Thank you for visiting Dick's Sporting Goods. If you need assistance with shopping on our site, please call us at 1-877-846-9997 and a customer care representative will be happy to assist you. Please inform the Customer Service representative that you require assistance.

Pelican Vortex 80DLX Kayak - Dick's Sporting Goods

Pelican Vortex 80DLX Kayak

Item Number: 12586849
Price: $199.99 $249.99*
You save: $50.00 (20%)
Receive 20% off Select Life Vests with Purchase of This Product!! Must add Both Products to Cart. (See Promotion Details)



2SIZE: 


3QTY:
Online
In Store

SHIPPING INFO: Usually ships in 2 - 3 weeks
Standard Freight Delivery

Product Availability & Price

Product Information

Customer Reviews

Buying Guide


The Pelican« Vortex 80DLX Kayak is an ideal kayak for beginners and more experienced paddlers alike. Featuring an adjustable padded backrest, molded seat and seat cushion, the Vortex 80DLX is comfortable enough to stay out on the lake for hours. Handy features like the bow and stern carry handles and paddle tie-down make it easy to transport.

FEATURES:

  • Adjustable padded backrest
  • Bow and stern carrying handles
  • Elastic bungee cords on stern
  • Molded seat
  • Seat cushion
  • Paddle keeper
  • Carry handles
  • Drain plug


Specs:

  • Length: 8'
  • Beam: 28"
  • Depth: 14"
  • Cockpit width: 24.5"
  • Cockpit length: 41.5"
  • Carry weight: 28 lbs
  • Max. capacity: 200 lbs
  • Pelican


Country of Origin: Canada

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5áby 37 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5áby Great yak for a smaller person Bought this for my (large) 8 year old son. It took him all of about 5 minutes, without instruction, to be off and running like a pro. Easy to paddle, even easier to transport at under 30 pounds, it's just a great little boat. He has no problem keeping up with the rest of the family. Would have been nice if it had some storage, but at this price point, I'm not going to complain. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5áby Excellent kayak! I have now purchased two of these from Dick's (1 in each color), and they are great kayaks. They are very light weight but tough as nails. The molded seat is the most comfortable I have seen on a kayak. I can paddle for hours and not get a sore butt! Easily the most bang for your buck in a kayak. May 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5áby Waves The kayak is a good beginners product if your kayak is going to be on water that is with no waves. If there is a foot of water that is a wave , and you are going sideways , it will fill up with water and tip if your person is under the weight of 70 pounds. The controlling is mantagble for a double side paddle. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5áby good kids kayak Just bought two of these on sale for 160 a piece for my 10 and 12 year old we went out for a half an hour and the kids did awesome in them. They have only been in a kayak once before for maybe a hour. They never tipped and had no trouble at all. And its good for 200 lbs so they will use them for a long time. Only 40,dollars more than the kids 6 foot ones. If u have kids around 100lbs I recommend u buy these instead of the smaller kids kayaks. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5áby Amazing Deal! I had one kayak that I had purchased in 2012 (Pelican Pursuit 80x- also highly recommended!) and was looking for another affordable eight-foot kayak to go with it. I purchased this kayak in 2014 (Pelican Vortex 80DLX) and couldn't be happier. I can fit both kayaks INSIDE my Nissan Versa hatchback car together. I've been pleasantly surprised to find that most traditionally sized cars can fit one eight-foot kayak inside. The only disadvantage is that they aren't going to work for passengers weighing more than about 250 pounds. Also, accessories (PFDs, paddles, etc.) are typically much cheaper at other sports stores than at Dick's. Overall, I cannot believe how cheap it has been to become the owner of two quality kayaks! May 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5áby Wonderful Little Kayak! I bought this as my first kayak on sale at Dick's. Potomac Kayaks are made specifically for Dick's Sporting Goods by Pelican Sports (http://www.pelicansport.com)- check out their website for more information and accessories. I needed something to fit into my small Honda Fit and this worked perfectly and got me on the water. Comes with nice water bottle holder and plenty of space under the hull to store a pack. It is comfortable and great for beginner or child. I am a 65 year old woman and can easily carry it. Does well on flat-water lakes. Have yet to try on slow moving river, but assume it would be fine. Since it is short (8 feet), it does not track as well as longer kayak- but it is great for leisurely paddling. One drawback - it does not come with foot braces. I found a pair on Amazon and we installed them, so now his little kayak has everything I need. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5áby Excellent value for beginner kayak The key word to think about with this kayak is leisure. This is a small, light, easy to maneuver boat for one person who's not in a hurry. If you're paddling along, you move at a leisurely pace. This kayak was on sale when I got it, so for the money I'm giving it 5 stars. That doesn't mean it's perfect; it means the cost/value ratio is in my favor. What it's not: It is not a speed demon. I've had it up to maybe 5 mph as measured by a handheld GPSr. But it's not supposed to be fast. Remember to take it easy and accept the fact that a longer, more narrow and pointed kayak is going to out pace you. But you're on the water for leisure, not racing. It is not a great sport kayak for fishing. There are no built in rod holders or anything like that. I suppose one could fish from it, but it's not designed for fishing. It's not for long trips. The cargo capacity is very small, no built in cargo holds, just some bungee cords and a small flat spot behind your seat. The longest trip I've made in mine is a shade over 7 miles, but that was all done in an afternoon. I've not attempted even an overnight trip downriver because I have doubts I can pack everything I'd need. But again, it's for an afternoon of leisurely day trips, not a week's voyage. What I like about it: It's small and light. I can carry it with one hand, and I'm not a big or strong guy (5' 9", 160 lbs). It's fairly flat and stable in the water. The flip side of it not being fast means it's probably wider than it needs to be. It won't track as straight as longer kayaks, but you can turn it in tight places, like some of the small creek backwaters I frequent. The stability makes it feel very safe. I've not had it in anything like rough water, though. The small size means I can actually fit this thing INSIDE my Honda Civic hatchback. I have to fold the rear seats down and push the passenger seat forward to an unsittable position, but I can do it. The executive summary: good value for the money, especially if you can catch it on sale. Good kayak for beginners or anybody else who wants to spend a leisurely afternoon paddling along in calm waters. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5áby Great Buy I bought this kayak because I am a poor graduate student with a small car and a small apartment to store it at. For the price, size and weight... it is a fantastic buy! It does great on rivers. The tracking is not terrible if you adjust your stroke every once in a while. The light weight makes it ideal for shallow waters as well. I am going to buy a nicer kayak when I get a real job, but for the time being, I would highly recommend this product! October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5áby What a blast! I've had this kayak for about 6 weeks and have only missed maybe 4 days on the lake. It tracks better than my husband's more expensive ride-on-top and my 12.5 lb dog LOVES going with me every day. After 3 low back surgeries and 2 neck surgeries I've found a way to get fit without hurting myself. With a hacksaw I shaped and placed some styrofoam in the front hull for foot stops (although you don't need them for just light paddling around) and this kayak runs around like a sports car no matter if the lake is glassy or has white caps. It's VERY stable and I can put in and out by myself. The seat gives excellent support and is quite comfortable. My husband has difficulty getting in and out because he has knee problems, so he sticks with a ride-on-top. I have no problems getting in and out. The plastic hull is durable, I beach it all of the time on gravel, and there is no serious damage. It floats in less than a foot of water with me in it!! What a fun product!! September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5áby Worth it. I'm a small female at 5'5 and 112 lbs and I had no issues carrying this kayak one-handed or pulling it into and out of the water alone. This kayak was my very first experience using one, and I am no athlete, but this was SO easy to maneuver and paddle. Stable. Light. Comfortable. Durable enough for light kayaking down leisurely lakes and rivers. I like it a lot. The downsides are it does have a seam, there is no storage compartment, and it is probably not well suited for larger individuals. My knowledge of kayak quality is limited, but what I do know is this was well worth the 150$ investment (it was on sale). I would recommend! Fun!! July 7, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>