Thank you for visiting Dick's Sporting Goods. If you need assistance with shopping on our site, please call us at 1-877-846-9997 and a customer care representative will be happy to assist you. Please inform the Customer Service representative that you require assistance.

Pelican Vortex 80DLX Kayak - Dick's Sporting Goods

Pelican Vortex 80DLX Kayak

Item Number: 12586849
Price: $199.99 $249.99*
You save: $50.00 (20%)
Receive 20% off Select Life Vests with Purchase of This Product!! Must add Both Products to Cart. (See Promotion Details)



2SIZE: 


3QTY:
Online
In Store

SHIPPING INFO: Usually ships in 2 - 3 weeks
Standard Freight Delivery

Product Availability & Price

Product Information

Customer Reviews

Buying Guide


The Pelican« Vortex 80DLX Kayak is an ideal kayak for beginners and more experienced paddlers alike. Featuring an adjustable padded backrest, molded seat and seat cushion, the Vortex 80DLX is comfortable enough to stay out on the lake for hours. Handy features like the bow and stern carry handles and paddle tie-down make it easy to transport.

FEATURES:

  • Adjustable padded backrest
  • Bow and stern carrying handles
  • Elastic bungee cords on stern
  • Molded seat
  • Seat cushion
  • Paddle keeper
  • Carry handles
  • Drain plug


Specs:

  • Length: 8'
  • Beam: 28"
  • Depth: 14"
  • Cockpit width: 24.5"
  • Cockpit length: 41.5"
  • Carry weight: 28 lbs
  • Max. capacity: 200 lbs
  • Pelican


Country of Origin: Canada

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5áby 37 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5áby sit in My 1st kayak was the fusion 10 & it is a great. This year I bought this model & a small sit on top. This model is very light, I believe 26lbs. I'm a female weighing 130 & 5'3 and mainly kayak alone & lift my own equipment by myself. I handle my fusion 10 alone and no stability issues, except being careful entering & leaving it. The sit ins just seem more stable in & out of the water. I can throw them around like nobody's business but the sitontops just seems hard to handle/balance. I would recommend it if you definitely want a sitontop, but if you are undecided & will be lifting & kayaking alone I would suggest a sit in. If you kayak in groups & need something fast & have help loading unloading probly a longer more expensive kayak is needed. But this is a awesome beginners kayak! Hope this helps. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5áby Amazing kayak This is my first kayak and I chose it based on the price to see whether I could enjoy it. The first day I had it out, it was wonderful. It worked great and was easy to paddle. It's also very light weight and I (a five foot nothing) woman had absolutely no problem hauling it up out of the water and to my car. I would highly recommend this as a first kayak for anyone looking to get into the sport. June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5áby Nice Boat I'm 6' & right at the weight limit. The boat is to small for me both to short for comfort & weight. I had no problem with the way it moved in the water but flipped it to see how easy it was to get in & out. I could not get back into the boat without sinking it. I tried from front, side, & back. I was just to heavy to get on top without the boat filling with water. My 8 year old found it fun but a little harder to paddle then the 10' Pathfinders by Pelican. My wife on the other hand says this is her favorite one. She is 5'3" & has no problems in it. The boat is light weight & really easy to carry & load. June 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5áby disappointed I originally bought this kayak with the intentions of being able to haul it to and from my car as well as being able to lift it by myself (5'2"). It is very light weight compared to other kayaks and I discovered that the short length can actually fit inside of my suv, which was even better. The downside of all of this, is the light weight and short length gives it horrible tracking. As a beginner kayak-er I did not realize how much of a difference a longer and heavier boat makes. This is good for beginners or someone who does not mind going in circles in the water, and not to mention the speed of the kayak is very slow. However, I myself will return this and get a longer kayak that will actually keep a straight path. All said, it is not a horrible kayak, as it does float and moves. 0 June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5áby Great kayak at a great price This is a wonderful kayak, at the best price. It tracks well & is very good for beginners & veteran boaters alike. I bought 6 of these in the last 3 years & am happy when the family is together on a trip! Nothing like it! May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5áby Great Kayak!!!! Absolutely beautiful kayak, light, easy to maneuver, comfy little padded seat. I'm 5'1" 120 lbs and have had recent surgery, I can pick this little beauty up with ease and toss it in my trunk with the back seats folded down. didnt realize it needed to be registered in Ohio, but its not expensive. May 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5áby Perfect kayak for women, teens I've had this kayak for almost a year and i love everything about it. I usually go kayaking by myself so i needed something I could lift and I can lift this baby with one arm! I'm also lucky enough to have a sedan that has a incredibly large trunk so all i have to do is fold the backseat down and this baby fits in my trunk! It's comfortable for me to kayak in for several hours, it tracks great in the water. I would not recommend the "sit in" version if you are planning on taking this into open water such as a lake and definitely not the ocean. Once the waves come up over the front the water is stuck in your boat. This kayak is perfect for a beginner or someone who needs a light boat to carry by themselves. I'm a 30yr old female about 145lbs, with back problems and i have no issues with lifting or sitting in this kayak. I have taken this boat out onto the lake (only when its calm) and it does just fine. April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5áby Great kayak, even better price My brother and I have been looking into buying a kayak for a while and found some inflatables online. We planned on buying the inflatables this past Friday, but decided to look at Dick's first we found this one for 199.99 and talked to the manager he sold it to us at 150. My brother and i work opposite shifts most of the time and dont have a problem sharing it but plan on getting another within our next paychecks. It is easy to maneuver and floats in just inches of water. Neither of us have ever kayaked before, and have spent hours apiece on the water now (without tipping). If you're looking into buying a kayak, i would recommend this one. its just as nice as the five hundred dollar kayaks in my opinion and light and durable. January 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5áby Great little boat My husband and I are looking to get into kayaking a bit more. We both have paddling experience, but not much and not recent. We bought these expecting to get better at the sport before "upgrading," but after trying them out, I'll be quite happy with these for basic day trips. We took these out this weekend on the local lake, and I was very impressed by how quickly they moved. The tracking is not terrific, but we didn't have too much trouble moving in a general direction. There was light wake from motor vehicles, and the kayak just bobbed along without any issues. The best riding, of course, was on flat water. My husband is 5'10" and I am 5'3," and we both felt comfortable. Transport is easy-- we can actually fit two into my husband's hatchback (but then no passenger) while we wait for the roof rack to arrive. I can carry my gear, snacks and kayak to the water without help, which I like. September 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5áby Perfect for calm lakes I bought this to use when I do not have time to take my bigger kayak. It fits in the back of my SUV so I use it on my way home from work for an evening exercise. Easy to carry and transport. As it is small and short I would not want to use it in rough water. But for what I got it for it is perfect. August 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>