Pelican Vortex DLX 80 Kayak

NOW: $199.99 (20% off!)
Was: $249.99*

You May Also Like:

Pelican Vortex DLX 80 Kayak - Dick's Sporting Goods
  • Show Enhanced
  • $120 Shipping on Select Pelican Kayaks! Online Only.
  • Lime Green
  • Turquoise
  • Tangerine
  • 7 FT. 9 IN.
Check Store Availability

Usually ships in 5 - 14 business days.

Standard Freight Delivery

Product Information:

The Pelican® Vortex 80DLX Kayak is an ideal kayak for beginners and more experienced paddlers alike. Featuring an adjustable backrest and molded seat, the Vortex 80DLX is comfortable enough to stay out on the lake for hours. The bow and stern carry handles and lightweight design make it easy to transport to and from the shore for a day of fun on the water!
FEATURES:

  • Designed for all skill sets
  • Adjustable padded backrest
  • Bow and stern carrying handles
  • Elastic bungee cords on stern
  • Molded seat
  • Carry handles
  • Drain plug
  • Not rudder capable
  • Manufacturer's two-year limited extended warranty on hull and deck
  • Manufacturer's one-year warranty on components and accessories
  • Pelican


Specs:

  • Length: 7'9"
  • Beam: 28"
  • Depth: 14"
  • Cockpit width: 24.5"
  • Cockpit length: 41.5"
  • Carry weight: 28 lbs
  • Maximum weight capacity: 200 lbs
Country of Origin: Imported
Web ID: 12586849

Customer Reviews:

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 91 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Going to the lake.... I am new to kayaking and this kayak fits my needs for a starter kayak. I like that it is smaller and easy for me to carry. It was a little wobbly when I first went on the water... until I got used to it and was able to maneuver it better. I don't feel like it will tip over. It is good quality and seems like it will last a long time. I liked that I was able to put my back seats down in my Ford Focus and put it in the trunk...as I have no car top carrier. It sticks out a way, but I secured it with bungee cords. I am so excited to be able to take it out again soon. The only thing I would change is that I wish for the price that it would have come with an adjustable paddle, instead of spending more money to get one. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by fun little boat! we were looking for lightweight kayaks to take onto the New river and local lakes...got exactly what we were looking for. Easy to carry, relatively stable...easy to get in and out of! June 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a way to go! We love our Pelican Vortex kayaks. They are great boats for poking along the lake shore, into marshes, or up slow rivers. A great bargain especially on sale. June 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this Kayak This kayak was for my 11 year old son. He had a blast with it. It is very sturdy and he went up and down Rapids without any difficulty. He never tipped over and learned how to paddle with ease. This was his first time in a kayak and he fell in love with it. The kayak is light weight and easily maneuverable. June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, easy pick up So pleased with our new kayaks. When we went to pick them up, we first headed upstairs to select some paddles. When the salesman found out we were there to pick up an online order, he went above and beyond to make the whole process quick and easy. The entire staff was helpful and pleasant. We know we'll make great use of the kayaks and will shop more often at Dick's. June 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for calm rivers I am a 5 ft, 115 lb female and my boyfriend is a 5 ft 7 185 lb male. We purchased a pair of these kayaks, one for each of us. I'm a relative newbie to paddling and this is my first kayak. I consider myself pretty cautious and some of the reviews about this kayak being "unstable" worried me. The second I got the Pelican Vortex in the water my nerves almost instantly disappeared. This boat is pretty darn stable. I had NO problem with tipping or even feeling near tipping. I was out on a calm river for 4 hours and was at ease the whole time. Even though my bf is pretty near the 200lb weight limit, he had no problem with stability either. The complaints about this kayak not tracking are valid. But an 8ft, relatively wide boat can't be expected to track well, and I'm fine with this. However, given that it's a wider boat I recommend longer paddles. To give you an idea, on this boat I'm comfortable with 220, though I typically use 180 for narrower kayaks. May 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this little boat! Absolutely love this boat! So easy to carry around and it fits right in my car. It handles smoothly even on choppy waters in the lake. Only complaint I have is the fact that there are no good peddles. I usually stick a life jacket in the end for extra stability. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Kayak Not quite as smooth as a 10 foot kayak, but runs quite well. I actually thought I was getting a 10 footer, but this works. Easier to tote around than a 10 footer! April 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the price, it's ok I was looking for a second kayak that was shorter than my usual one, that would fit in our truck better. I checked the Dicks site and was excited to find the Trailblazer 100 on sale for $199, and showing in stock at my somewhat local (30 miles from my house) store-perfect! not as wide as the Sun Dolphin Aruba 10 that my husband uses, but still long enough to be stable at 10'. Drove to pick it up and...it was out of stock and the store employees said it was a known glitch. Disappointed, I left without a kayak. The next day, I found a pair of Vortex 80's for sale cheap, with paddles. I checked the reviews and although I thought a 10' would be better I went for it. I wouldn't put a beginner in one unless it was smooth water. The lack of foot pegs is annoying, since using them really helps with stability. We took them out briefly the night we bought them in rolling waves #2' or so# and they are FUN on the rollers #like riding a bobber#, but we've been paddling for a bit so the feeling of tippiness wasn't terribly upsetting. You cannot paddle these hard-anything more than half of the paddle in the water and you're either tipping or turning. I haven't had them out in complete calm yet. The seat is more comfortable than the one in my primary #30 year old fiberglass# kayak, but I wish the water bottle holder was under the top of the boat out of the sun #not common, but with mine I can tuck it between the seat and hull so it doesn't get warm as quickly#. I can see these as a second kayak #as I intended# or for paddling streams or creeks with calm water, but I would suggest the 10' trailblazer or sun dolphin if you can #they aren't much more $$#. The trailblazer is a couple inches skinner and a bit lighter than the Sun dolphin, so if you're a smaller person #I'm 5'2"# it will probably be more comfortable to carry and paddle. September 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love! Love! Love! It's a kayak. It fits in my car! Because it is shorter than most kayaks, it takes a little getting used to... like 30 seconds!!! I bought this for my son who was luke-warm about kayaking. 3 strokes later he was a devotee. We couldn't decide whether to name it Freedom or Serenity. I plan on buying more.Love...love...love it! I ordered it on line Friday night. I got an email within 5 minutes. 10 minutes later it said "Come and get it!" Went to the store in the morning..Pizaaaz! Out again in 5 minutes. September 4, 2015
  • 2016-08-29 T01:39:13.465-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_91, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_12586849, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>